Wikis for Promoting Student Participation and Collaboration

Below is the wiki I have created.
http://misspaulinetan.wikispaces.com/

The wiki I have created contains four pages: ‘Home’, ‘Common Errors’, ‘Proofreading’, ‘Fun Websites for English Learning’.

Common Errors
‘Common Errors’ includes some common mistakes my P.3 students often make when learning the form of present tense and gerunds. I hope to arouse their awareness toward these mistakes through this website.

Proofreading
‘Proofreading’ is also for my P.3 students for learning the subject and verb agreement. I hope after I have pointed out their common made mistakes through the last page and in class, they will be able to spot the mistakes in the story.

Websites
‘Fun Website for English Learning’ is for all level students of mine. By providing different interesting English learning websites, I hope to increase their English learning motivation outside of classroom.

Wiki provides a very convenient platform for teachers’ and students’ interaction. I will use wiki to encourage students to write more by asking them to use it as an online journal. They can write once a week about anything, and then I can give some useful comments about their contents and writings. I can also use wiki to introduce more fun English-learning websites. I believe it will be an effective ways to arouse their learning interest.

Leave a comment